Trips by air, land and sea

Wait, I just want to go over it. I think it’s because it’s so complicated I just want to reassure myself it all works.

  1. K,M and I fly to Massachusetts. My mother is having a big party.
  2. N drives down from Maine.
  3. N drives back up to Maine on her own.
  4. K, M and I fly to Pittsburgh to see K’s family.
  5. Later, N flies from Maine to Pittsburgh.
  6. K, M, N, and I drive from Pittsburgh to Ohio. I think we borrow K’s mother’s car, which means we probably should ship a bunch of stuff ahead of time. Something to think about.
  7. M moves in on the 21st. We hang around until 5 PM on the 22nd, at which point we are politely asked to leave.
  8. We spend that night at a hotel near the airport. Which brings to mind the other thing I have to do, which is make hotel reservations.
  9. K leaves early on the 23rd from Ohio. N and I hang around a bit in case we are needed to purchase something — a fan, some painters tape, who knows what. Or just to say goodbye again. Or not.
  10. N and I drive back to Pittsburgh. I drop N off at the airport. N flies back to Maine. I return the car.
  11. The next day, I take the bus to the airport and fly home.

It’s a little bit insane, but I think it all works.

I also managed to make all the Thanksgiving reservations, too, and it’s a good thing I did because they are already beginning to get expensive. Yuck.

I have not thought as far as Christmas, for the most part. Except that N wants to go to Spain.

Life is complicated, and it shows no signs of getting less complicated.

In other news, N and a friend took the sailboat out by themselves last weekend. That’s a good thing. Dear little sailboat. It’s a little tricky getting it back onto the mooring, but once you’ve done it you see that it’s not so hard.

M went trail riding last night. I think it was beautiful. They went out about 5:30 and were back about 8 — just at dusk. I’m sure it was beautiful — the moon was up and they were riding around in the hills near the stable. She’s never ridden outside of the arena before. I think it was really fun. It must be fun for the horses, too, don’t you think? And no one was eaten by a wildcat — another plus.

I love summer.

8 thoughts on “Trips by air, land and sea

  1. Oh my god, my head hurts reading that itinerary! Best of luck that everything goes as planned. How sad do you think you will be when you get to #11? Or, maybe you can sleep during the flight and save the sadness for later.

    I love summer too! I can’t believe it’s the end of July.

    • It’s a lot, isn’t it? It’s not just that I feel like it’s a lot, right?
      I think I will probably cry all the way home, to tell the truth.

  2. Wow. I haven’t been in an airplane since 1999. You are reminding me of another life, long ago, when I worked in an office and took business trips to places like Philadelphia, Atlanta and San Diego. Or a slightly more recent life, when I used all of my frequent-flier points from said business trips to finance freewheeling backpacking trips to Europe.

    I think I need to get out more.

    (Hope everything goes perfectly and that you have wonderful times with all of the people you love.)

  3. Just to make that itinerary even more complicated, remember that I’ll be back in town by noon on the 23rd and you should call if you have any free time that afternoon or evening, maybe just to say hello in passing.

  4. I’m leaving town Friday night, Aug. 20 to go to Indianapolis for Sat. and Sun. the 21-22. We’re driving back the morning of the 23rd to see Eleanor, because that’s her birthday. Not as complicated as yours, but with its own intricacies!

Leave a Reply

