Olives, gardening, eclipse, reading

eclipse

Following K’s splendid Friday night office party, which centers on olive tasting, drinking, and strawberry shortcake, I spent the weekend in the garden. I dug out blackberries wherever they had taken root. I weeded around the vegetables. I moved two rosebushes and some irises and weeded the little curb areas. I cut a limb off the wild plum tree which was practically touching the ground in the middle of the yard, letting a lot more sun in. I added twine to the clematis trellis. I planted some heucheria, two artichokes, three wall flowers, three sunflowers, two monkey flowers, one California fuschia and some herbs. I separated the leeks which were all clumped together. I weeded around the hellebores and planted a new one, a red lady. I moved the rock wall so the firepit area can be expanded so people’s knees won’t burn. I ate three nearly-ripe blueberries.

It was extremely satisfying, and now every muscle hurts. The weather was glorious and it was great to be outside. Now I have a strict schedule to follow to get the house cleaned before I go away, and I’m also going to have to go to the grocery store.

Sunday evening, K invited our friends to come over to see the eclipse with us, and then, because we had no food in the house, we ordered in Chinese food.

I read a little bit of the Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, (outside, on the porch swing) but it is rather slow going. And what is with his constantly broken dialogue? — “Take refuge upstairs,” Marinus proposes, “for the duration.”

Okay — nearly time for lunch.

5 thoughts on “Olives, gardening, eclipse, reading

  1. I have determined to keep going with the book. I’m over the hump now. I am still annoyed by his writing style but I have to know what happens.

Leave a Reply

