Scattered

P1050058

I feel totally scattered these days.

P1050050

I think it’s in part the result of having M home for the summer again. I’m not in the habit anymore of thinking about dinner, but it turns out that children like to eat. Quite regularly, too. K and I can kind of subsist on cheese rinds and stale bread for a day or two before we get too hungry.

P1050049

And also, because it’s summer, there’s just more to do, I’m torn between wanting to work in the garden, wanting to go for a hike, wanting to make jam, wanting to go to the movies with M, wanting to clean the house before it becomes uninhabitable. I think it is true that an extra person does increase the clutter.

P1050039

I’m also about to go away to the usual mid-summer conference. Midsummer is a terrible time for a conference — if I go anywhere, I want to go somewhere where I don’t have to work.

P1050031

After the conference, I’m supposed to go hiking with an old friend from college, and I also want to go up to Maine to see N, and my mother is angling for a visit, too.

P1050019

It’s all feeling irreconcilable. I guess the thing to do is to actually figure out how to fit it all together. Then I can stop worrying about it.

P1050065

It is very hard to be a grown up.

P1050067

Ho hum.

8 thoughts on “Scattered

  1. Yes. All those people wanting a piece of you and your time. I wish we could live parallel lives – send one self off to do all those things while the other self stays home with a book and a glass of wine.

  2. It is very hard to be a grown up. That’s why sometimes I quit trying, and go to the movies. I saw Magic Mike with some college girls last night, and thought it was kind of funny and mostly terrible.

Leave a Reply

