Not so great

Untitled

The bad news is, I have a cold. I’m at work now, but I think I’ll go home soon and take a nap.

The good news is, we had a nice weekend. It was K’s birthday on Sunday, and I made a cheesecake. It’s the cheesecake of my youth, and I was worried, but it was as delicious as I remembered. I actually spoke to N, who was at my mother’s, to get the recipe. How funny to have her driving around the east coast all on her own. She sounds very happy.

It was kind of a low key weekend. M drew, and K wrote his paper. We went out for dinner on Saturday to a restaurant that’s been in the city since 1949 and only serves prime rib. It was delicious. Sunday K wrote and M drew and I realized that I was sick. In the afternoon, M and I went into the city. She needed to visit a museum for her class. Among other things, we saw a Gaultier exhibit full of terrifying mannequins in dark rooms who winked, spoke and sang.

I have also, and this is heroic, started to get things together for my trip east in a few weeks. I put together my schedule for the conference, which is hellish. L and I discussed our route for our backpacking trip after the conference. We really are doing this. I’ll spend a night with my mother and then I think L and I are headed for Maine, where N may or may not join us for a few nights. A lot is still up in the air, but it’s gradually getting figured out. The key is going to be to bring as little as possible. L keeps arguing that she’s going to lose weight before she goes, so she can bring more things. Hmmm. I’m just going to bring nothing. I had a plan, when we were planning to hike in Connecticut, to carry no food and just eat in diners. Not sure that’ll work in Maine.

I did buy a backpack. It’s very beautiful.

Okay, I really am going home. I don’t feel great —

2 thoughts on “Not so great

Leave a Reply

