The mitten

Untitled

Okay, it’s a little lumpy. I have not blocked it yet.

I’m not sure about the colors. I wanted them to pop out, and they do . . .

It also doesn’t have its thumb yet — looks much better with the thumb.

Actually, I’m looking at it again in the light of morning and I’m liking it a lot. I can’t wait to finish its mate so I can figure out a new batch of colors.

Kansas was glorious. It’s November there, and the leaves are gone but there are still colors in the landscape.

Untitled

On the way back I took a little detour to the Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve. I’ll post pictures later.

I’m really glad I went. What an idea – to take a weekend to go someplace where people feed you delicious food and you just knit all day, except when you take a break to go outside and walk around. It was a good idea.

9 thoughts on “The mitten

  1. I love that mitten! I am looking forward to a similar retreat soon – writing instead of knitting. I have to bring my own food and may have no one to talk to but….that’s actually kind of perfect. 🙂 Glad you had a good time and got to go somewhere new.

    • Lynn! I’ve been feeling bad for days that I never contacted you to tell you I was still alive. They were NOT axe murderer! It was fun. I had a great time, and it was great to meet you!!!! K’s family also had a farm in Spring something — near where you live. And the last name was Donohue. Of course, this was in the 30’s. But they may still be there! Say hi if you find them! edj3 above has also been to teller’s, btw.

  2. P.S. That mitten is spectacular!

    P.P.S. Have been wanting more of that good merlot. Perhaps I could get whatshisname to zip over in his convertible with a bottle or two…

Leave a Reply

