Eagle Peak

Untitled

I have been wanting to do this hike for some time, now, but I kept putting it off. I thought it would be hard. My usual hiking companions are either too busy, or not likely to want to climb a mountain. But I wanted to do it, and I did it. I did not collapse from heat exhaustion; I was not eaten by a mountain lion; I did not break my leg and fall off the mountain.

Although you can see how I could have, right?

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

If you look closely, you can see the windmills way out in Suisun Bay.

Untitled

There were lots of wildflowers. I did not stop to take many pictures because I was worried about making it back before dark. Here’s a hound’s tongue,

houndstooth

but there were also Indian paintbrush, Indian warrior, red and blue larkspur, poppies, fiddlenecks, baby-blue eyes, Mount Diablo fairy lanterns, wallflowers, blue dicks, poppies, milkmaids, salsify —

So, having barely dragged myself up there once, I am now pretty eager to go back. I am hoping I can convince someone to come with me —

5 thoughts on “Eagle Peak

      • I think the walk you did is one of the ones I’ve done some of at least and it ‘s very characteristic of the place, especially this time of year. Most recently we did the North Peak from near the parking area on the South Peak which was pretty cool too. The dog complicates things, as they’re not allowed on trails in state parks very much. Shell Ridge, accessible off of Ygnacio Valley Rd. is a neat area that we can take him though. How nice you got out with the bloomies and all!

Leave a Reply

