Halloween

Untitled

We’re handing out doughnuts to the students today, and I was forced to have a costume. Heh.
Suddenly I am exhausted. I could barely drag myself out of bed this morning. I think I’m finally over the conference, etc.

Here’s what’s new at my house:

  • The plumber came and the bathtub now drains and, miraculously, there is water pressure in the shower!
  • Lucy has taken to sleeping in my down vest.
  • We’re having stones laid along the side of the house where there was a tiny mud path. I think this is going to be nicer than I thought. Too nice, K. said. The very cheapest stone happened to come from Connecticut. I’m from Connecticut! This made me happy, while simultaneously appalled that we’re using stone dragged across the country. But what could I do?
  • I’m leaving work early to carve the pumpkins. I was too exhausted to carve them last night. Sleep. Pumpkins. It is important to have one’s priorities straight.
  • I read a good book, Send in the Idiots, and am reading another, On the Noodle Road. I read the first a month or so ago, so can’t give a great review off the top of my head, but it’s a good book — one of the autistic people the author interviews is a Democratic speechwriter, and it’s quite interesting to think about the difference between democrats and republicans from an autistic perspective. The Noodle one I’m not quite through. It’s more a sort of travelogue of the silk road rather than an actual study of the origins of the noodle (which I would like to read), but it’s interesting nonetheless from her unfiltered reactions to various cultures. Central Asian cuisine is pretty boring (plov). It’s pretty unpleasant to live in a country, like Iran, where everyone is spied upon. (And China isn’t like that — also interesting.) Not terribly deep, I think, but still interesting.
  • Hathi hathi hathi ho.
5 thoughts on “Halloween

    • I don’t know!

      California actually is pretty rock less, though, maybe. There’s granite in the sierras, but maybe there just isn’t slate here? Seems very hard to believe. But what often looks like rock by the coast turns out to be either mud or very crumbly rock.

      >

Leave a Reply

