Monumental

f6ddd7cb-84b2-43bf-96a7-ad9fb477cf03

Today is N’s 24th b’day and K’s and my 28th anniversary.

Feels very monumental.

And, as is seasonally appropriate, I’m feeling grateful, for family and friends and connections and health — for two great kids embarking on adventurous lives; for 28 years with K; for Lucy and all her predecessors; for family and friends; for the fact that it’s not over yet.

My Vermont friend and her son came over for dinner last night. I made a big pot of this soup, which was so delicious and filling. All afternoon I cooked, while M sat, tucked into the comfy chair, writing a paper. A and her son arrived on bicycles from the city. I had a long talk with A on the porch in the cold air while K walked to the wine store. I’m so glad to have connected with her again.

It’s good.

One thought on “Monumental

  1. Just when I thought I had no idea what to cook for supper you provided me with the recipe. I happen to have most of those ingredients lurking in the fridge but they had not previously suggested soup to me. Many congratulations on your monumental anniversaries.

Leave a Reply

