Thanksgiving aftermath

All Photos-10

To be honest, I’m a little bit crabby.

First of all, the day itself was somewhat of a bust. The day after, when the turkey was completely cooked and we had not spent the entire day cooking and cleaning, was great. I went in to the city with some friends to the tile store (this tile store. Oh wow — click on that link) and then we reconvened for leftovers at our very clean house and that was so much fun.

And an old and good friend from Vermont is here, too, and that is also fun — We went to the museum and thought about bench seating in my kitchen.

And it has rained a bit, and may rain some more, and that’s great. And I finally got a tiny hike in, and that was amazing. I began to feel a bit more like a human being.

It’s very odd, because I grew up thinking of myself as a holiday person, and now I’m not sure if I’m just not a holiday person, or if I just have to figure out a way to not have them be quite so dire. We’ve got to do something so Christmas isn’t worse, although it will help that M will be home.

It’s not helping that I have to leave in the middle of the week to fly to Arizona to help my mother pack up my grandmother’s belongings. It would be so excellent to have that weekend at home to potter around and put up Christmas lights and mail a card or two.

However, it is not to be. Ho hum.

Here’s a view from my walk.

All Photos-16

One thought on “Thanksgiving aftermath

  1. I do envy you that ceramics company. I first read about it on an American blog many years ago. I suppose Fired Earth is our equivalent for tiles but they don’t do crockery.

Leave a Reply

