Four generations

20141204-105044-3

Just returned from cleaning out my grandmother’s condo.

Many treasures large and small unearthed, including this photo. From left to right, my mother, my great-great-aunt Clara, me, my grandmother (Margaret), her sister – my great-aunt Tally (Clara), my aunt Christy (Christina). This picture is from Tally’s wedding. I think I am causing some trouble, which is why my grandmother is smiling at my mother, who is not noticing. The sky is very blue — it’s August in North Dakota.

We found another picture from my mother’s wedding, some 7 years earlier, and Aunt Clara is wearing the same dress. Frugal people, or maybe just the normal thing to do in 1964.

My aunt Tally was the glamorous one, which is why Christy is wearing that odd-colored dress. (She was an attendant.) This is one of the few pictures we have of my grandmother smiling.

You can see, right? I come from a long line of, um, strong women.

I’m glad I went, and I am very glad to be home.

Bring on the carols!

4 thoughts on “Four generations

Leave a Reply

